Change: the frustrating side.

So I’ve been neglecting my blogging duties of late.

When I worked at my last position, I would just find a nice time to take a break from work, and write how I felt that day. The things that were pervading my mind would just seem to flow.

I don’t really get the time for that at my new job.

I was really excited about the money. It’s GREAT money. I never thought I’d ever be able to make this kind of cash without a Master’s Degree, which feels almost unfair, in this economy, to people with Master’s Degrees. But the schedule they’d given me gave me pause.

And I now understand why it did.

My schedule differs each week. They call it the “Mad Dog” shift, because only crazy people would work it.

Week One:

Work Monday and Tuesday, off Wednesday and Thursday, work Friday thru Sunday.

Week Two:

Off Monday and Tuesday, work Wednesday and Thursday, off Friday thru Sunday.

 

Sure, week two looks baller, and it is. But each shift is 12 hours, and I commute about an hour and a half each way to the big city to work now.

So I end up with 15 hour shifts.

For someone trying to maintain fertility, sleeping *maybe* 5 or 6 hours a night is probbles not the best. Don’t get me wrong, I’m giving this all I’ve got. How could I turn something like this down? It was what was best for my family when I heard about it, and the company is one of the best that I’ve ever worked for!

Cool things about the new job:

-They have pellet ice in the Ice Machines.
-They have fruit and nut mixture packs in the vending machines.
-To find your way around the cubicles, they have “street names” assigned by movie title. My cubicle is on “Witches of Eastwick Way”. Nice.
– They care about their employees. Your lunch period is paid for, even though you’re hourly, as an example. They’re not penny pinchers.
-There’s a gym in the basement.

All of these things are awesome, but I think the thing that’s affected me the most is driving during rush hour to get to work during the week. I’m on my way to work to Nashville at 5pm. Nashville drivers are notorious jerks. The stress of that drive, one way, is enough to make me want to invent a car-side bomb that can be deployed towards unruly cars.

Oh, that, and I drive a vehicle that gets 19 miles to the gallon. Car fill-ups cost about $60-65, and is gone every two days, usually.

This may have no been the best decision I’ve ever made, but I’m making the best of it. I love my coworkers, I’m learning the systems very quickly, and I have my own *nice* laptop and docking station. The gig is pretty easy, but the details are getting me down.

How do you deal with the nitty gritty parts of change? Help a sista out!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Change: the frustrating side.

  1. Sorry things are working out so rough on the schedule. I gotta admit, when I heard you all were going to stay in BG with you commuting, I cringed a bit remembering how obnoxious that drive was for me until we got moved down here a month later. I don’t know how Matt and Tristan do it. I was going crazy by a month in. The first months after taking this job, even after the move, were not particularly fun for me or Beth either, but now that things are stable, we’re doing a >lot< better than we were back at Dell. Try not to get too stressed about it either way though. Either it will work, and it will be great, and you all will be happy, or it won't work in the long run, and you'll find something else that works, and that will be great, and you all will be happy. At least while you and Colin are deciding what's best, you'll be making good money to save up for whatever you need. In the mean time, grab some audiobooks for the drive, and use the 50 minutes before you're in Nashville-driving hell to relax – from BG down to the crosswinds sign isn't that bad. Let me know if we can help in any way though!

    • Thanks for the pep talk, Wes!

      I love HCA itself. I love our boss, the building, that the work can be a bit more complicated, and that we’re trusted to work at home eventually, should we so choose. It’s pretty phenom!

      You know the delicacies of the situation more than anybody else at this point, though, so there’s more to consider.

      If I had a choice, I’d roll out of bed and walk to work, being next door. But I’d never want to live in Antioch, so there goes that plan! 🙂

  2. Change is rough (although, I’d kill for some of it right about now!). It takes time to figure out what works for you, especially with a new job and what sounds like a pretty awful commute. Sometimes the only thing you can do is change your attitude/perspective to match the situation–not easy, I know. I like the idea of the audiobooks!

  3. Tamela Hatcher says:

    .The doula post really made me The The doula post really made me sad. I am SO sorry this happened to you and your family. There are bad and misguided people in every profession. I train doula’s and work at a large metro hospital. My co-worker nurse sent me your link/story. I forwarded it on to all of the voluntary and paid doula’s in our area. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. I consider the doctors, nurses, midwifes and childbirth educators all a part of my team. We have a great time and trustful relationship working together. I will be presenting at a national conference and would like your permission to share a part of your story so a larger audience can learn from your experience. Please let me know if this would be okay.

Leave a Reply

